Photo Gallery

24 HLBC bowlers competed for the President’s Cup on Sept 5.  It was a great day and a good time was had by all.  The team of Marvin Kwan, Larry McDonald and Jean Shepansky won the day and receive the trophy from Board Member Chris Bezovie.

Two teams from HLBC went to Medicine Hat in July to compete in the Medicine Hat Triples Tournament, and the team of Kathy Kerr, Richard Turner and Thelma Melnichuk came home with the hardware!  Congratulations!

Canada Day Lawn Bowling with our friends from the Royal Lawn Bowling Club was great! 48 bowlers came out to enjoy two games and a tasty lunch. Many thanks to Norwood Dental and Diva Communications for the door prizes!

  • The 2022 Open House held on May 14 was fantastic! Over 100 people came out to see what learn the basics of lawn bowling and have some fun. A great time for everyone!

Members kicked off the season with Spring Fling on May 21. Program Director John FitzGibbon organized a fast-paced, two-end, triples tournament that allowed teams to play every team. It was a great chance to get reacquainted with friends and meet the new members. So much fun!

The Labour Day Tournament held on Sept 4, 2021 was a great success! Eighteen HLBC members turned out for three games of triples. While everyone who came out to play was a winner, the winners of the President’s Cup were Cecilia Gillespie, Ann Black, and Jean Shepansky. Good bowling!!

Bowls Alberta and the Alberta 55 Plus Association hosted the qualifiers for the Canada Plus 55 games on Aug 27-29. The Highlands Lawn Bowling Club was well represented! Barb and Tony Spencer (mixed pairs 70+), Ann and Bill Black (mixed pairs 55+), Barb Spencer and Vivian Kwan (women’s pairs 70+) Tony Spencer and Richard Turner (men’s pairs 55+) will be going on to the games in Kamloops next summer. Good going, everyone!

Thank you to Makadiff Sports for the RESTART grant and to the City of Edmonton for the Community Initiatives Operating Grant. These funds helped to offset our operating costs and keep us on the green in 2021!

Thank you to the New Horizons for Seniors Program for their generous support of our project, Engaging Seniors in Sport and Community!   With this funding, HLBC was able to purchase 22 sets of bowls in smaller sizes,  equipment that helps people with back and knee problems to  keep bowling, two sets of steps to the green, and sun umbrellas.  With this new equipment our club is well-positioned to provide fun and safe bowling for seniors and the entire community.